Emergency Orders

& Executive Powers

9 February 2022

REGISTRATION IS OPEN!

REGISTER NOW

Emergency Orders & Executive Powers

A joint initiative between  LAWASIA and the American Bar Association (ABA)

image

 

With executive branches of government using the excuse of the pandemic to expand their own powers while sidelining legislatures and the judiciary, the question remains: what is the limit of executive power in times of crisis, and how is that power reduced once the crisis is over?

Panellists will discuss the role of the bar association in understanding the separation of powers in a state, particularly in supporting and advocating for an independent judiciary as a crucial check on executive power.

Webinar Details

Date: Wednesday  9 February 2022

Cost: Complimentary

Time

  • 24:00 - 01:30 (New York - previous day)
  • 21:00 - 22:30 (Seattle - previous day)
  • 10:30 - 12:00 (Delhi / Colombo)
  • 11:00 - 12:30 (Dhaka)
  • 12:00 - 13:30 (Bangkok)
  • 13:00 - 14:30 (Kuala Lumpur / Hong Kong / Beijing / Singapore) 
  • 14:00 - 15:30 (Seoul / Tokyo)
  • 16:00 - 17:30 (Sydney / Melbourne)

REGISTER HERE

Speaker Panel*

Panellists

 

Shyam Divan

Mr Shyam Divan
President-Elect | LAWASIA
Senior Advocate | Supreme Court of India
INDIA

 

Mr A G Kalidas

Mr A G Kalidas
President | Malaysian Bar
MALAYSIA
 

 

 

View speaker biographies

* More details to come soon

Notes for attendees

 

  • WEBINAR PLATFORM

Please click here for some useful information and practical tips on how to navigate the webinar platform.

  • CERTIFICATE OF ATTENDANCE

Certificates are complimentary for current LAWASIA members and a fee of AUD 10 will be applicable for non-members. To apply for LAWASIA membership, please click here.

Please indicate upon registration if you require a certificate of attendance.

Partner with us!

Collaborate with us & raise your international profile

 

Become a LAWASIA member

Membership of LAWASIA offers to individuals and their law firms the opportunity to interact on a regional basis, to build their knowledge and understanding of legal issues and to develop a network of colleagues throughout the world with a common interest in the practice of law in this region.

Become a member