Rule of Law, Justice & Democratic Rights

in Sri Lanka

Thursday 22 April 2021 | 13:00 - 14:30 AEST

REGISTRATIONS ARE OPEN

REGISTER NOW

Rule of Law, Justice & Democratic Rights in Sri Lanka

 

In light of the events unfolding in Sri Lanka in recent times, particularly the resolution of the Human Rights Council expressing deep concern at the deteriorating human rights situation in Sri Lanka, LAWASIA is organising this webinar to bring together some of the preeminent experts of the country, to discuss and understand the human rights and rule of law concerns raised by the government’s actions.  

The webinar, organised by the Human Rights Section of LAWASIA, will explore in particular the threats to lawyers, as well as the role that a regional association such as LAWASIA plays to ensure that human rights and the rule of law are safeguarded in Sri Lanka. 

Webinar Details

Date: Thursday  22 April 2021

Cost: Complimentary

Time

  • 13:00 - 14:30 (Sydney / Melbourne) 
  • 12:00 - 13:30 (Seoul / Tokyo) 
  • 11:00 - 12:30 (Kuala Lumpur / Beijing / Hong Kong / Singapore / Ulaanbaatar / Manila) 
  • 10:00 - 11:30 (Hanoi / Phnom Penh / Bangkok / Vientiane) 
  • 08:30 - 10:00 (Colombo / Delhi) 
REGISTER HERE

Please note, each registration requires a different email address. You cannot register multiple participants with the same email address.

Speaker Panel

Welcome Remarks
Mr Marwaan Macan-Markar

Mr Marwaan Macan-Markar
Asia Regional Correspondent | Nikkei Asia
THAILAND/SRI LANKA
 

 

 

Moderator
Mr Prashant Kumar

Mr Prashant Kumar
Past-President | LAWASIA
President | Bar Association of India
INDIA

 

 

Panellists

Mr Viran Corea

Mr Viran Corea
Attorney-at-Law
SRI LANKA
 

 

Ms Shreen Abdul Saroor

Ms Shreen Abdul Saroor
Founder | Mannar Women's Development Federation
SRI LANKA
 

 

Ms Satkunanathan

Ms Ambika Satkunanathan
Human Rights Lawyer & Fellow | Open Society Foundation 
Commissioner (2015-2020) | Human Rights Commission of Sri Lanka
SRI LANKA

 

Mr Geoffrey Alagaratnam

Mr Geoffrey Alagaratnam PC
Former President | Bar Association of Sri Lanka
SRI LANKA
 

 

 CLICK HERE TO VIEW  THE BIOGRAPHIES

Notes for attendees

 

  • WEBINAR PLATFORM

Please click here for some useful information and practical tips on how to navigate the webinar platform.

  • CERTIFICATE OF ATTENDANCE

Certificates are complimentary for current LAWASIA members and a fee of AUD 30 will be applicable for non-members. To apply for LAWASIA membership, please click here.

Please indicate upon registration if you require a certificate of attendance.