Alternative Dispute Resolution

in the New Normal

REGISTER NOW

Alternative Dispute Resolution in the New Normal -  The Steady Rise of Arbitration and Mediation

A joint initiative between LAWASIA and the UIA

UIA LAWASIA logo banner

 

 

 

Watch the Welcome Message from LAWASIA and the UIA's Presidents

 

LAWASIA together with the UIA are proud to present details of our upcoming collaboration: Alternative Dispute Resolution in the New Normal – The Steady Rise of Arbitration and Mediation.  We warmly invite our members and friends to register for this unique event, and join us as we explore pertinent issues arising in ADR from a multi-jurisdictional legal perspective. 

 As the world emerges from the COVID pandemic and adjusts to the altered legal landscape that will follow, many have suggested that arbitration and mediation will continue to rise to the forefront.  Even before the crisis, jurisdictions worldwide have seen increased acceptance of international arbitration to resolve cross-border disputes as well as broader interest in international mediation. 
 
The recent signing of the Singapore Mediation Convention augurs still greater reliance on mediation in large part because it promises to facilitate enforcement of resulting settlement agreements.
 
In light of the realities of the post-COVID legal world, the flexibility and adaptability of the arbitration and mediation processes suggest that both may reach new heights if their advocates and practitioners know how to adapt to the “new normal.” 
 
In this first joint webinar by LAWASIA and UIA (Union Internationale des Avocats), experts from both organisations will address the promise and the pitfalls of arbitration and mediation in the post-COVID world.

LAWASIA,  The Law Association for Asia and the Pacific, is a regional association of lawyers, judges, jurists and legal organisations, which advocates for the interests and concerns of the Asia Pacific legal profession. For over fifty years, LAWASIA has operated as a platform to promote the cross-jurisdictional exchange of legal knowledge; as a voice of the legal profession; and as a conduit for encouraging adherence to mutually-held principles of the rule of law, professional integrity and the protection of human rights. 

The UIA (Union International des Avocats - International Association of Lawyers) is the global and multicultural organisation for the legal profession, established in 1927 and now with members in 110 countries. UIA facilitates professional development and international exchange of information and ideas, promotes the rule of law, defends the independence and freedom of lawyers worldwide, and emphasizes friendship, collegiality and networking among members. Visit the website: www.uianet.org

Webinar Details

Date: Tuesday 18 August 2020

Cost: Complimentary

Time

  • 18:00 - 19: 00 (Australian Eastern Standard Time)
  • 17:00 - 18:00 (Tokyo/Seoul)
  • 16:00 - 17:00 (Hong Kong/Singapore/KL/Beijing)
  • 13:30 - 14:30 (Delhi/Colombo)
  • 12:00 - 13.00 (Dubai/Abu Dhabi)
  • 11:00 - 12.00 (Doha/Istanbul/Beirut/Jerusalem/Nairobi)
  • 10:00 - 11:00 (Berlin/Cairo/Paris/Vienna/Johannesburg)
  • 09:00 - 10:00 (London/Lisbon/Algiers/Tunis)

 

REGISTER HERE

Please note, each registration requires a different email address. You cannot register multiple participants with the same email address.

Speaker Panel 

Welcome Remarks

 

Chunghwan Choi

Mr Chunghwan Choi
President | LAWASIA
Chairman | International Association of Korean Lawyers (IAKL)
Senior Partner | Lee & Ko - SOUTH KOREA

 

Jerry roth

Mr Jerry Roth
President | UIA
Munger Tolles & Olson
UNITED STATES

 

Moderators

 

Pinky Anand

Dr Pinky Anand
Chair of ADR Subcommittee | LAWASIA
Senior Advocate | Supreme Court of India
INDIA

 

Mr Georges Feghali

Mr Georges Feghali
President | UIA Mediation & Conflict Prevention Commission
Regional Mediator | World Bank
LEBANON

 

Panellists

Patricia Peterson

Ms Patricia Ann Peterson
Past President | UIA International Arbitration Commission
Independent Arbitrator | Peterson//ADR
FRANCE

 

Thomas Gaultier

Mr Thomas Gaultier
Vice-President | UIA Mediation & Conflict Prevention Commission
Abreu Advogados
PORTUGAL

 

Malathi Das

Ms Malathi Das
Past President | LAWASIA
Director | Joyce A. Tan & Partners LLC
SINGAPORE

 

Ms Sae Youn Kim

Ms Sae Youn Kim
Partner  | Kim & Chang
SOUTH KOREA
 

 

 

CLICK HERE TO VIEW THE BIOGRAPHIES

Notes for attendees

Please click here for some useful information and practical tips on how to navigate the webinar platform.